

Cedarville University

2013 Faculty and Staff Sessions

Schedule of Events - August 9, 2013

Dixon Ministry Center, Jeremiah Chapel

7:15 a.m
8:00 a.m
8:15 a.mPresidential Message and Vision Dr. Thomas White
8:45 a.mBrief Time for Q & A
9:00 a.mService Awards for 5, 10, 15, and 20 Years
9:30 a.m. Worship HeartSong
9:45 a.mService Awards for 25, 30, 35, 40, and 45 Years
10:15 a.m
10:30 a.mThe Challenges Facing Christian Higher Education, Session 1 Dr. Al Mohler
11:30 a.mLunch Courtesy of the University Dining Hall, SSC
1:00 p.m
1:15 p.m. Presidential Message
1:45 p.mThe Challenges Facing Christian Higher Education, Session 2 Dr. Al Mohler
2:45 p.m. Worship HeartSong
3:00 p.m Dismissal

About Our Special Guest

Dr. R. Albert Mohler, Jr., serves as President of The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary — the flagship school of the Southern Baptist Convention and one of the largest seminaries in the world. Dr. Mohler has been recognized by such influential publications as *Time* and *Christianity Today* as a leader among American evangelicals. In fact, time.com called him the "reigning intellectual of the evangelical movement in the U.S." In addition to his presidential duties, Dr. Mohler hosts two programs: *The Briefing*, a daily analysis of news and events from a Christian worldview; and *Thinking in Public*, a series of conversations with the day's leading thinkers. He also writes a popular blog and a regular commentary on moral, cultural and theological issues. All of these can be accessed through Dr. Mohler's website, AlbertMohler.com. Called "an articulate voice for conservative Christianity at large" by *The Chicago Tribune*, Dr. Mohler's mission is to address contemporary issues from a consistent and explicit Christian worldview.

2013 Service Awards

5 Years

Jennifer Beck
Lee Belleman
Tom Betcher
Bill Bigham
Amanda Burger
Angie Cooper
John Delano
Leroy Dickens
Shirley Dohse
Brent Etzel
Julie Furj-Kuhn
Nathan Hnatiuk

Colin Jones Isaac Kurtz Kristy Lane Talitha Long Jim Mellick Terry Merrill Angie Mickle Janet Neal Amanda Nolt Joe Poelzer Shari Ray Brian Ray Diane Reid
Scot Riethmiller
Craig Salisbury
Marsha Swinehart
Denise Tye
Marcy Van Meter
Nancy Voorhies
Natalie Wilkins
Chimi Woo
Sandy Yoder

10 Years

Harry Anderson
Carolyn Barnett
Amy Belleman
Bill Brown
Karen Callan
Kathy Carnegis
Robert Clements
April Crommett
Chuck Elliott
Timothy Frame
Ryan Futrell

Stephen Gaines Amanda Gillispie Jeffrey Guernsey Matthew Gumm Vicky Hines Aaron Hutchison Eric Johnson Esther Lanham Laura Lintz Monique Muncy Timothy Norman

Higinia Sanchez Jose Sanchez Keith Shomper Joyce Smallwood Tom Sweigard Joel Tomkinson Ashley Wasserman Cindy Weir Cindy Wingert

15 Years

Amy Bielek Mike Firmin Becky Hayes Becky Kirby Karisa Linafelter Lee Mattson Cynthia Messer Matthew Moore Dan J. Orr Timothy Overdorf

2013 Service Awards (continued)

20 Years

Ed Baumann Dave Denlinger Kathy Edlund Connie Ford Phil Grafton Gary Hull Paul Orchard Sam SanGregory Bob Schumacher Mark Spencer Cindy Wilkins

25 Years

Jeffrey Beste Fran Campbell Scott Howder Bill Randolph Nancy Ranger Pete Reese Bev Robey

30 Years

Lois Baker Jim Cato Mark Klimek Mark Mathews Cheryl Shupe Roscoe Smith Mark Womack

35 Years

Paul Dixon Barbara Loach

45 Years

Larry Helmick Jim Phipps

Academic Division Meeting

Monday, August 12, 2013 Stevens Student Center, DeVries Theatre

7:45–8:30 a.mContinental Breakfast
8:30–9:00 a.m
9:00–9:30 a.mNew Faculty and Staff Introductions
9:30–10:30 a.m. Presidential Message Dr. Thomas White, President
10:30–10:45 a.mBreak
10:45–11:15 a.m. Message Dr. Tom Cornman, Academic Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
11:15–11:45 a.mTown Hall Q & A
11:45 a.m.–1:00 p.mBuffet in Event Rooms (Courtesy of the Academic Vice President)
1:00 p.m. Breakout Sessions (see schedule)

Time	TYL 201	APP 107	TYL 210	TYL 102	APP 103
1–1:45 p.m.	Library: OneSearch Brent Etzel	CoursEval and Faculty ePortfolios Dr. Lindsey McCarty	Atomic Learning Kathy Carnegis	Moodle and Me the Novice Nina Prozzo	The Office of Student Success Fran Campbell and Karisa Linafelter
2–2:45 p.m.	Library: Digital Commons Greg Martin	Where is the Academic Division Headed? Dr. Tom Cornman	Google Calendar Mark Mazelin	Moodle and Me the Experienced Nina Prozzo	Degree Audit: Making Advising Easier Rebecca Dufresne
3–3:45 p.m.	Library: OneSearch Brent Etzel	Where is the Academic Division Headed? Dr. Tom Cornman	Google Calendar Mark Mazelin	TYL 203 PowerPoint: Deliver the Points with Power Nina Prozzo	Degree Audit: Making Advising Easier Rebecca Dufresne

New Faculty

Samson Amos

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

Melissa Beck

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

Mary Becker

School of Nursing

Ginger Cameron

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

Carlos Elias

Department of Music and Worship

Jeremy Ervin

School of Education

John (J.R.) Gilhooly

School of Biblical and Theological

Studies

Ashley Holland

Department of Science and

Mathematics

Darren Holland

Department of Engineering and

Computer Science

Zachary Jenkins

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

Emily Laswell

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

David Lawhead

Department of Music and Worship

Jason Lee

School of Biblical and Theological

Studies

Annie Lee-Zimerle

Department of Art, Design, and

Theatre

William (Billy) Marsh

School of Biblical and Theological

Studies

Janice Marsteller

Department of Pharmaceutical

Sciences

Joshua Michael

Library Science

Susan Plemons

Department of Music and Worship

Ched Spellman

School of Biblical and Theological

Studies

Betty (Ruth) Sylvester

School of Education

Phoebe Tsai

School of Business Administration

Lindsay Tucholski

School of Nursing

Robert Turner

School of Biblical and Theological

Studies

Andrew Wonders

School of Business Administration

New Full-Time Staff

Zachary Bowden

Executive Assistant to the President

Linda Burnison

Custodian

Stephanie Carroll

Cedarville Fund Officer

Paige Christiaanse

Transcript Verification Assistant

Justin Elafros

Resident Director, Rickard

Katherine Ford

Representative, Pharmacy Program

James Gilcher III

HVAC Technician

Rita Heaton

Coordinator of Regional Alumni Events and Services, Alumni

Relations

Tami Jacobs

Administrative Assistant,

Counseling Services

Timothy Kelly

Network Engineer

Steven Lesko

Resident Director, Brock Hall

Kimberly Levinsky

Assistant Coach, Softball

Andrew Mayes

Campus Safety Officer

Jason McIntosh

Campus Safety Officer

Nicholas Miller

Assistant Registrar

Eric Mishne

Custodian

Jordan Peck

Groundskeeper

Lindsey Petrel

Campus Experience Coordinator

Nina Prozzo

Instructional Designer

Joshua Redmond

Graphic Designer

Casey Reinert

Advancement Assistant

Jason Scott

Assistant Track & Field Coach

Thomas White

President

Jonathan Wood

Vice President for Student Life and

Christian Ministries

Hilary Young

Apparel Buyer and Marketing

Coordinator