

Cedarville University DigitalCommons@Cedarville

Men's and Women's Cross Country News Releases (1982-1994)

Cross Country

11-11-1986

Sports News Release

Cedarville University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.cedarville.edu/cross_country_news_releases



Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Sports Studies Commons

Recommended Citation

Cedarville University, "Sports News Release" (1986). Men's and Women's Cross Country News Releases (1982-1994). 25.

https://digitalcommons.cedarville.edu/cross_country_news_releases/25

This News Release is brought to you for free and open access by DigitalCommons@Cedarville, a service of the Centennial Library. It has been accepted for inclusion in Men's and Women's Cross Country News Releases (1982-1994) by an authorized administrator of DigitalCommons@Cedarville. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@cedarville.edu.



SPORTS INFORMATION CEOARVILLE COLLEGE BOX 601 CEDARVILLE, OH 45314 MARK WOMACK, DIRECTOR 513/766-2211 ext. 505 Office 513/766-5244 Home

5 November, 1986

For immediate release:

CEDARVILLE, OHIO -- Cedarville College will be the host for the 14th Annual Men's and Sixth Annual Women's NCCAA (National Christian College Athletic Association) cross country championships on Saturday. Both races will be run at John Bryan State Park located near Yellow Springs with the women's championship starting at 10 a.m. and the men's at 11. This marks the eighth year in a row that Cedarville has served as host.

Twenty men's teams and 16 women's will be vying for the championship banner in their respective divisions. Cedarville is the defending champion in both divisions.

In the men's division, only four schools have won the previous 13 races. Anderson College (IN) owns the most titles with five (1980-84) winning them in consecutive years. Eastern Mennonite (VA) has four crowns (1973, 74, 76, 77), Cedarville three (1978, 79, 85), and Bryan (TN) one which came in 1975.

Three schools have taken turns in winning the previous five women's races. Spring Arbor (MI) won the first two (1981, 82), Anderson the next two (1983, 84), and then Cedarville last year.

Even with the domination by a handful of schools in both divisions, Malone College, who just rejoined the NCCAA this fall is favored to win both races. The Pioneer men are ranked 7th in the NAIA and the women are rated 11th. The Cedarville men were ranked 18th in the latest NAIA poll.

The top 15 men and top 10 women will comprise the NCCAA All-America teams in each division. All area cross country fans are encouraged to attend and there is no admission fee.