

# Cedarville University DigitalCommons@Cedarville

Men's Cross Country Statistics

Men's Cross Country (1995-Current)

Fall 2012

### 2012 NCAA Division II Regional Awards

**Cedarville University** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.cedarville.edu/ mens\_cross\_country\_statistics

Part of the Higher Education Commons, and the Sports Studies Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Cedarville University, "2012 NCAA Division II Regional Awards" (2012). *Men's Cross Country Statistics*. 270.

https://digitalcommons.cedarville.edu/mens\_cross\_country\_statistics/270

This Statistics is brought to you for free and open access by DigitalCommons@Cedarville, a service of the Centennial Library. It has been accepted for inclusion in Men's Cross Country Statistics by an authorized administrator of DigitalCommons@Cedarville. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@cedarville.edu.



- Convention Symposiums
- Convention Symposium Materials
- Sponsors & Supporters
  - Sponsors
  - Supporters
- MEDIA
  - Media Services
  - USTFCCCA InfoZone
  - · Football Track & Field Bests
  - o Broadcast Schedule
  - Future Collegiate Championships
  - · This Weekend Results & Schedules
  - o techniques Magazine
- <u>Coaches' Login</u>
- Division I
- <u>Division II</u>
- <u>Division III</u>
- NAIA
- High School
- Meet Openings
- Jobs
- Academy
- <u>Convention</u>
- InfoZone

USTFCCCA.org > Awards > Regional Award Winners for 2012 Released for Division II Cross Country

## **Regional Award Winners for 2012 Released for Division II Cross** Country

Courtesy: Tom Lewis, USTFCCCA

November 7, 2012

Follow @USTFCCCA #d2xc Recommend 5 Send

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Wednesday the winners of USTFCCCA Region Athletes and Coaches of the Year honors for the 2012 cross country season in Division II as voted by the Division's coaches.

The NCAA DII Cross Country Championships will be hosted by Missouri Southern on Saturday, November 17, in Joplin, Mo. NCAA.com will broadcast the meet online.

USTFCCCA Division II Cross Country Region Athletes and Coaches of the Year

#### Men's Athlete of the Year

#### ATLANTIC REGION - Alex Monroe, Lock Haven

Monroe, a junior from Lewistown, Pa., defended his Atlantic region title, cruising to a 12-second victory on his home course. Leading his team to a tie for second in the region, Monroe won in a 10k time of 30:41.1. Monroe claimed the individual title at the PSAC Championships for the secondstraight season as well.

Recent Winners: 2011: Alex Monroe, Lock Haven 2010: Nathan Zondlo, Lock Haven 2009: Ben Hahn, Edinboro 2008: Chris Clark, California (Pa.)

#### CENTRAL REGION - Travis Beniak, Augustana (S.D.)

Beniak, a senior from Mazeppa, Minn., won the Central region crown with a final time of 29:57 and will be making his third appearance at the NCAA Championships. He finished second place at the NSIC Championship as part of a top-three sweep of the conference race.

Recent Winners: 2011: Gabriel Proctor, Western State

2010: Ben Zywicki, Colorado Mines 2009: Reuben Mwei, Adams State 2008: Aaron Braun, Adams State

#### EAST REGION - Jeff Veiga, UMass Lowell

Velga, a senior from Lowell, Mass., won the East crown for the second time in three years with a 28:53 run, finishing 23 seconds ahead of the field. He placed second at the Northeast-10 Championship where the River Hawks finished third.

Recent Winners:

2011: Glarius Rop, American International 2010: Jeff Veiga, UMass Lowell 2009: Glarius Rop, American International 2008: Ruben Sanca, UMass Lowell

#### MIDWEST REGION – Matt Brooker, Cedarville

Brooker, a senior from Spring Mills, Pa., won the Midwest title and led the Yellow Jackets to the NCAA Championships in their first year as an active DII program. In the regional, he covered the 10k in 30:35 and was 38 seconds ahead of the rest of the field. He was also dominant at the first-ever G-MAC Championships where he won the league crown by over a minute.

#### Recent Winners:

2011: Anthony Witt, Grand Valley State 2010: Tyler Emmorey, Grand Valley State 2009: Tyler Emmorey, Grand Valley State 2008: Chris Hammer, Grand Valley State

#### SOUTH REGION - Blaise Binns, Alabama-Huntsville

A sophomore from Huntsville, Ala., won the first region title in his program's history with a school-record 10k time of 31:39 in leading the Chargers to the South crown. He also led the team to a Gulf South title while claiming the individual top honor at the league meet.

Recent Winners: 2011: Moses Kirui, Florida Tech 2010: Daniel Kirwa, Harding 2009: Daniel Kirwa, Harding 2008: Daniel Kirwa, Harding

#### SOUTH CENTRAL REGION - Kevin Batt, Adams State

Batt, a redshirt freshman from Sydney, Australia, took the South Central crown and led the Grizzlies to the region title with a thrilling, single-second victory over Eastern New Mexico's Isaiah Samoei. He crossed the line fourth at the RMAC Championships this fall.

Recent Winners: 2011: Laban Sialo, Central Missouri 2010: Amos Sang, Abilene Christian 2009: Amos Sang, Abilene Christian 2008: Julius Nyango, Abilene Christian

#### SOUTHEAST REGION - Pardon Ndhlovu, UNC Pembroke

Ndhlovu, a senior from Harare, Zimbabwe, won the Southeast crown for the second-straight year, garnering a finish time of 31:19 and 31 seconds ahead of the region field. Also for the second-straight year, the Brave was the Peach Belt champ and won this year's league title with a conferencerecord 8k time of 24:20.

Recent Winners 2011: Pardon Ndhlovu, UNC Pembroke 2010: Meshack Koyiaki, Columbus State 2009: Oscar Ogwaro, Queens (N.C.) 2008: Oscar Ogwaro, Queens (N.C.)

#### WEST REGION - Micah Chelimo, Alaska Anchorage

A senior from Kapkoi, Kenya, Chelimo claimed the West title for the second-straight year which brought the Seawolves a runner-up showing in the region. He won the GNAC crown for the second-straight year and is undefeated this season.

Recent Winners: 2011: Micah Chelimo, Alaska Anchorage 2010: Marko Cheseto, Alaska Anchorage 2009: Marko Cheseto, Alaska Anchorage 2008: Scott Bauhs, Chico State

#### Women's Athletes of the Year