Student Composition Recitals


I. Conscious
II. Mull


Media is loading


Simon Yeh, soprano sax
Julia Brummel, alto sax
Jonathan Lyons, tenor sax
Kyle Darwin, baritone sax.

Recital Date


Academic Year



Saxophone quartet



Program Notes

I’ve often described myself to people as an over-thinker. When analyzing this piece to find some sort of story or program, I saw myself. It seemed to me that the music described one who is cursed and blessed with thoughtfulness- perceiving the world, analyzing everything the senses take in and rehearsing them in the mind. I named the piece Neuro- referring to the nervous system. The first movement, “Conscious,” describes this intake of information in 4 sections: a blurry morning, the bustle of the day, a short respite from the intake, and another bustle. The second movement, “Mull,” describes a session of deep thoughtfulness. A descending scale followed by a large ascending leap represents the original thought. The over-thinker sits and rehearses this thought and takes loosely related rabbit trails to interesting places of his or her imagination. I encourage the listener to view the music as describing the intangible processes of the mind and imagination- perception, processing, rehearsing, etc.

Composition recital spring 15.pdf (220 kB)
Recital Program


© 2015 Andrew McFarlane. All Rights Reserved


Cedarville, music, composition

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.